January 4, 2022

Love at First Spite by Anna E. Collins

Love at First Spite by  Anna E. CollinsLove at First Spite Published by Graydon House on January 4, 2022
Genres: Romance
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars
Reading Challenges: Debut Author 2021, GoodReads

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Love at First Spite

Anna E. Collins’ debut, LOVE AT FIRST SPITE, is a fun, contemporary, grump and sunshine, office romance. Dani, an interior designer, decides that the best revenge on her cheating ex-fiance is to build a spite house next door to his new house, ruining his view. The only wrinkle is that to build a house, she needs an architect. And building a spite house isn’t exactly an easy sell. So she’s shocked when Wyatt, the firm’s standoffish, golden boy architect volunteers.

As the project progresses, the project becomes less about angering her ex and more about spending time with Wyatt. Who maybe isn’t as haughty as she thought.

My thoughts about Love at First Spite

This book is such a fun read! The slow burn between Dani and Wyatt was heat-filled tension as they try to keep their relationship a secret from their coworkers. And their opposites attract vibe leads to some banter like when Dani teases him for eating his sandwich with a knife and fork during an impromptu picnic.

The conversations with her landlady and cousin, partners in the spite house, were hysterical as their contributions to the spite involved a collection of garden gnomes and LARPers. I loved that they were such a supportive group. And added the exact right amount of quirk. The landlady’s Great Danes were the perfect canine sidekicks.

In conclusion

As someone with a chronic illness that’s unpredictable about what triggers it, I appreciated the parts dealing with Ménière’s disease and how illness can have a socially limiting effect.

This fun romcom is perfect for fans of Kate Bromley and Sophie Sullivan.

Thank you Graydon House for the ARC.

Subscribe to my blog, Undine Reads, or follow my Bookstagram to get even more bookish content.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Debut Author 2021
  • GoodReads
  • NetGalley and Edelweiss Reading Challenge 2021
SHARE:
Reviews 0 Replies to “Love at First Spite by Anna E. Collins”