Chaos Terminal by Mur Lafferty

Chaos Terminal by Mur LaffertyChaos Terminal by Mur Lafferty
Series: Midsolar Murders #2
Published by Ace on November 7, 2023
Genres: Mystery, Science fiction
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Also by this author: Station Eternity

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Mur Lafferty, hands down, writes the most intriguing closed circle mysteries! 

The Midsolar Murder series takes place on a space station populated mostly by aliens with symbiotic relationships with other alien groups. Because humans lack symbiotes, aliens see them as less than. 

Murders happened around Mallory with alarming frequency. She’s escaped to a sentient space station to avoid other humans and further murders. 

About Chaos Terminal

After revelations about why murders have plagued her for her entire life in the first book, Station Eternity, Mallory thinks she’s out of the investigation game. But those dreams are dashed in CHAOS TERMINAL. A shuttle arrives with human passengers, several with ties to Mallory including her childhood crush and the law officer who hounded Mallory on Earth, suspicious of her proximity to so many murders.

When someone is murdered, Mallory takes up sleuthing again.

My thoughts about Chaos Terminal

As always, Mur Lafferty dazzles with detailed world-building. She’s created an amazing universe with several species of fully realized aliens including their cultures and politics.

While murder is a serious business, she works in touches of humor.

The story is intricately plotted with secondary storylines about the sentient space station and civil war between aliens. The mystery is complex and kept me guessing until the end. 

Mallory is a resourceful and resilient character and I enjoyed learning more about her backstory.

Can’t wait to read the next book!

In closing

Make sure to read the first book in the series, Station Eternity. Read my thoughts about it.

Thank you, Ace Books for the DRC!

Subscribe to my blog, Undine Reads, or follow my Bookstagram to get even more bookish content.

About Mur Lafferty

Mur Lafferty is the author of Solo: A Star Wars Story and the Hugo and Nebula nominated novel Six Wakes, The Shambling Guides series, and several self pubbed novels and novellas, including the award winning Afterlife series. She is the host of the Hugo-winning podcast Ditch Diggers, and the long-running I Should Be Writing. She is the recipient of the John Campbell Award for best new writer, the Manly Wade Wellman Award, the Best Fancast Hugo Award, and joined the Podcast Hall of Fame in 2015, its inaugural year.

Be First to Comment

Tell me what you think!