January 24, 2023

Against the Currant by Olivia Matthews

Against the Currant by Olivia MatthewsAgainst the Currant by Olivia Matthews
Series: A Spice Isle Bakery Mystery #1
Published by St. Martin's Press on January 23, 2023
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback
Goodreads
three-stars

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Against the Currant

AGAINST THE CURRANT is the first book in a new culinary cozy series. Lindsay is fulfilling a dream she’s had since she was a little girl – opening a bakery highlighting delicious treats highlighting her family’s West Indian heritage. Unfortunately, another baker in their Brooklyn neighborhood demands that Lyndsay close her bakery. Unsurprisingly, she refuses, and throws him out after some strong words.

Words that haunt her when he’s murdered and she’s a primary suspect. Then it’s up to Lyndsay, her friends, and family to clear her name before she’s arrested and the scandal shutters the bakery before it even gets the chance to thrive.

My thoughts about Against the Currant

I loved reading about Little Caribbean in Brooklyn, the culture, and especially the amazing-sounding food. Lyndsay was relatable in her drive to make her dream of the bakery come true. I loved her drive and determination. I love how she wanted to give her community the food of their heritage and they returned that by supporting her business and their belief in her innocence. 

The secondary characters were fun, especially Lyndsay’s sassy and chic grandmother. 

In closing

If you’re looking for a quick, easy read with mystery, and delicious food, definitely try Against the Currant.

For fans of Two Parts Murder, One Part Murder by VM Burns or Fake It Till You Bake It by Jamie Wesley.

Thank you St Martin’s Press for the ARC.

Subscribe to my blog, Undine Reads, or follow my Bookstagram to get even more bookish content.

About Olivia Matthews

Patricia Sargeant is a national best-selling, award-winning author. She writes romance as Patricia Sargeant and mysteries as Olivia Matthews. Her work has been featured in national publications such as Publishers Weekly, USA Today, Kirkus Reviews, Suspense Magazine, Mystery Scene Magazine, Library Journal and RT Book Reviews.

Patricia was drawn to write romance because she believes in the Power of Love as the greatest motivation. Her mysteries put ordinary people in extraordinary situations to have them find the Hero Inside.

SHARE:
Reviews 0 Replies to “Against the Currant by Olivia Matthews”