November 29, 2021

Petals and Poison by Jess Dylan

Petals and Poison by Jess DylanPetals and Poison by Jess Dylan
Series: A Flower House Mystery #2
Published by St. Martin's Press on November 30, 2021
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Death in Bloom
Also in this series: Death in Bloom
Reading Challenges: Cruisin through the Cozies 2021, GoodReads, NetGalley and Edelweiss Reading Challenge 2021

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Petals and Poison

PETALS AND POISON by Jess Dylan is the second entry in the cozy Flower House mystery series. When an unexpected group of students from the University of Tennessee show up to view the Flower House’s rare orchids, owner Sierra is caught off guard. Things go further south when the professor leading the tour is murdered on the premises. And her (maybe more than) friend Calvin is the prime suspect.

My thoughts about Petals and Poison

Although this is only the second book in the series, it has a comfortable, easy, Southern charm vibe. Sierra, her adorable Corgi pup, Gus, her bestie Deena, and her family, including her wise Granny all feel like friends that I’m ready to sit on a porch swing with over some sweet tea and pansy cookies. Granny, with her superstitions and folklore, is so much fun. And I love that Deena and Sierra’s brother Rocky might have a budding romance.

The mystery was well paced with several suspects, a variety of motives, two tense closet scenes, and a couple of great twists that kept me guessing until that final reveal.

In conclusion

This is a fun, charming, gentle read. Perfect reading while you’re cozied up in a warm blanket and a hot beverage.

Petals and Poison is perfect for fans of Kitt Crowe and Emmaline Duncan.

Thank you St. Martin’s Press for the ARC.

Subscribe to my blog, Undine Reads, or follow my Bookstagram to get even more bookish content.

About Jess Dylan

JESS DYLAN is an environmental attorney by day and author by night. As Jennifer David Hesse, she wrote the Wiccan Wheel Mysteries, a cozy series, with Kensington Publishing. Born and raised in Central Illinois, Jess now makes her home in Chicago with her musician husband, college-bound teen, and high-spirited Corgi. In her spare time, Jess enjoys yoga, hiking, reading and movie night with her family.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Cruisin through the Cozies 2021
  • GoodReads
  • NetGalley and Edelweiss Reading Challenge 2021
SHARE:
Reviews 0 Replies to “Petals and Poison by Jess Dylan”