June 2, 2021

Death In Bloom by Jess Dylan

Death In Bloom by Jess DylanDeath in Bloom by Jess Dylan
Series: A Flower House Mystery #1
Published by St. Martin's Press on May 25, 2021
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Goodreads
three-half-stars
Also by this author: Petals and Poison
Also in this series: Petals and Poison
Reading Challenges: Cruisin through the Cozies 2021, GoodReads, NetGalley and Edelweiss Reading Challenge 2021

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Death in Bloom by Jess Dylan is the debut of a new cozy craft series, the Flower House Mystery.

About Death in Bloom

Sierra didn’t expect to return home to small-town Aerieville but after her relationship explodes and her singing career didn’t happen, here she is at 28. Working part-time as a florist, trying to figure things out, trying to stay positive..

Sierra’s excited when Felix, the owner, is on board with her idea of holding a flower arranging class. She’s less excited when he phones her to say he’s going to be out of town indefinitely and she’s in charge. Then it gets worse. Someone drops dead during her class. Then truly terrible – Abe Ranker didn’t just die, he was murdered so Sierra and the other attendees are suspects.

Now she has to figure out who did it, to prove her innocence and avoid becoming the next victim.

My thoughts about Death in Bloom

I read cozy mysteries because knowing what to expect is part of my enjoyment. Death in Bloom ticked a lot of the cozy mystery trope boxes for me.

It’s set in a charming small town with several locally owned businesses with owners ranging from friendly to Sierra to those who seem to be hiding things to the downright hostile.

Craft cozy mystery means getting flower arranging tips while enjoying the mystery.

There’s a slightly mysterious new guy living in the apartment above the Flower House who’s also a potential love interest.

There’s the potential bestie who’s willing to investigate and maybe even commit some B&E with Sierra.

The supportive if not always understanding family. Sierra’s dad is friends with Aerieville’s chief of police which is a mixed blessing for her.

Sierra’s Granny is a delight. Full of common sense, no-nonsense advice plus herb lore made her a fun character. I hope we see more of her in future books.

Plus there’s Gus the puppy! When Felix, Sierra’s boss leaves town, he also leaves an adorable and energetic pup behind so Sierra adopts him.

In conclusion

Death in Bloom is a fun, quick, gentle read with an endearing amateur sleuth full of positivity, a great cast of supporting characters plus a bonus puppy sidekick – the total package for a cozy debut. For fans of Eve Calder, Lynn Cahoon, and Daryl Wood Gerber.

Thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the ARC.

Subscribe to my blog, Undine Reads, or follow my Bookstagram to get even more bookish content.

About Jess Dylan

JESS DYLAN is an environmental attorney by day and author by night. As Jennifer David Hesse, she wrote the Wiccan Wheel Mysteries, a cozy series, with Kensington Publishing. Born and raised in Central Illinois, Jess now makes her home in Chicago with her musician husband, college-bound teen, and high-spirited Corgi. In her spare time, Jess enjoys yoga, hiking, reading and movie night with her family.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Cruisin through the Cozies 2021
  • GoodReads
  • NetGalley and Edelweiss Reading Challenge 2021
SHARE:
Reviews 0 Replies to “Death In Bloom by Jess Dylan”