August 29, 2022

Six Feet Deep Dish by Mindy Quigley

Six Feet Deep Dish by Mindy QuigleySix Feet Deep Dish by Mindy Quigley
Series: Deep Dish Mysteries #1
Published by St. Martin's Press on August 23, 2022
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Yum! Cozy mysteries are made for delicious food descriptions and SIX FEET DEEP DISH is no exception.

About Six Feet Deep Dish

Delilah’s life is perfect. She’s moved back home. She’s opening a gourmet pizzeria with her BFF, Sonya, as sous chef. And she’s engaged to a sweet gazillionaire who’s underwriting the restaurant. Then the unthinkable happens. Her fiance dumps her and disappears. Even worse,  a murder happens at the restaurant. And her elderly aunt’s found holding the murder weapon and unable to remember what happened.

My thoughts about Six Feet Deep Dish

Great job creating a contemporary small-town setting with a quirky past involving mobsters. Vivid descriptions of the settings and the food. 

I loved the banter between Delilah and Sonya. Witty and fun. The cast of diverse secondary characters was intriguing and I hope we get more of them in future books.

The mystery involved several layers that kept my interest and maintained believability within the story. I hate when the mystery is too obvious or ridiculously convoluted. 

The book did what I love about cozy mysteries – gave me a great setting, filled with characters I wanted to know more about, moved at a quick pace but still let me savor delicious descriptions, and gave me a satisfying resolution with a hint of more to come..

You get:

🍕Body positivity with a plus size MC

🍕Diverse cast

🍕Adorable cat sidekick, Butterball

🍕Small town with a mobster past

🍕Sexy detective

🍕Light romance vibes

🍕Delicious food descriptions

🍕Multiple reveals

🍕Recipes!

In closing

For fans of Emmeline Duncan, Tara Lush, or Raquel V. Reyes.

Thank you, St. Martin’s Press for a finished copy!

Subscribe to my blog, Undine Reads, or follow my Bookstagram to get even more bookish content.

About Mindy Quigley

Mindy Quigley has won a number of awards for her short stories, including the 2013 Bloody Scotland prize and the 2018 Lightbringer award. Her work as the coordinator of a pastoral services program at the Duke University Medical Center provided the inspiration for her bestselling Reverend Lindsay Harding mystery series. She’s currently writing a new mystery series–The Deep Dish Mysteries–for St. Martin’s Press, which will debut in August 2022.

Before she started writing fiction, she worked in project management roles with university research centers, including the Anne Rowling Regenerative Neurology Clinic and the MRC Centre for Regenerative Medicine in Edinburgh, Scotland.

She lives in Virginia with her history professor husband, their two children, and their miniature Schnauzer.

SHARE:
Reviews 0 Replies to “Six Feet Deep Dish by Mindy Quigley”