Sugar and Vice by Eve Calder

Sugar and Vice by Eve CalderSugar and Vice by Eve Calder
Series: Cookie House Mystery #2
Published by St. Martin's Press on April 28, 2020
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
Also by this author: A Tale of Two Cookies
Also in this series: A Tale of Two Cookies

Buy on Amazon

Eve Calder has taken the ingredients for a perfect cozy mystery and created something delicious.

  • Coral Cay, a lovely small town full of engaging, sometimes eccentric people
  • Kate – baker and amateur sleuth
  • Maxi –  bestie and co-sleuth
  • Oliver – adorable and intuitive pupper

This second Cookie House mystery finds Kate and Maxi trying to solve multiple and possibly intertwined mysteries. When a corpse is found buried in the backyard of Maxi’s business, everyone is quick to assume that it’s one of Coral Cay’s famous pirates of yore.

Unfortunately, the corpse turns out to be a far more recent addition to the backyard so now Kate has to find a way to clear Maxi of suspicion. And is the corpse still tied to George Bly, the pirate founder of Coral Cay?

Between investigations, Kate is baking scrumptious sounding cookies and dodging Evan, her ex-fiance who’s determined to win her back.

My thoughts

I enjoyed revisiting all of the quirky residents of Coral Cay, especially Oliver the golden doodle. It was good to see Kate settling into her new life and take on her new role as a business owner and town sleuth.

A gentle, fun read.

Your thoughts

Are you reading the Cookie House Mystery series? Are you a fan of other bakery mysteries? Is there a series I should read? Tell me in the comments below.

Other books

Support Independent Bookstores - Visit IndieBound.orgSupport Independent Bookstores - Visit IndieBound.orgSupport Independent Bookstores - Visit IndieBound.orgSupport Independent Bookstores - Visit

If you enjoy cozy mysteries with baking, try the Cupcake Shop series by Jenn McKinlay. The first book in the series is Sprinkle with Murder.

Or give the Pie Town mysteries by Kirsten Weiss a read. The first book in the series is The Quiche and the Dead.

If you like cozy mysteries but prefer a bookstore setting, try the Scottish Book Shop series by Paige Shelton. The Cracked Spine is the first book in the series. I recently reviewed the fifth book, The Stolen Letter.

And Then There Were Crumbs is the first Cookie House mystery.

Thanks to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press  for the DRC.

About Eve Calder

Eve Calder writes the Cookie House mysteries, featuring pastry chef Kate McGuire. A Florida native, Eve is currently writing the next Cookie House mystery.

Be First to Comment

Tell me what you think!