October 28, 2021

The Fastest Way to Fall by Denise Williams

The Fastest Way to Fall by Denise WilliamsThe Fastest Way to Fall by Denise Williams
Published by Berkley on November 2, 2021
Genres: Romance
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Goodreads
four-half-stars
Also by this author: How to Fail at Flirting
Reading Challenges: GoodReads, NetGalley and Edelweiss Reading Challenge 2021

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About The Fastest Way to Fall

THE FASTEST WAY TO FALL by Denise Williams is a diverse contemporary romance. Warning that this isn’t your typical lighthearted romcom – characters deal with eating disorders and drug addiction. But the author handles these serious topics with a lot of skill and sensitivity plus weaves in lots of humor and steam.

Britta’s an assistant with writing aspirations for a lifestyle website. Britta pitches a story about signing up for a fitness app and documenting her experiences. Her boss okays the idea but with a twist, it’s going to be a shared story. Britta’s rival will be signing up for a rival app and documenting her experiences. This assignment will lead to a writing position but only for one of them.

Doing this assignment means that Britta, who’s struggled with her weight all of her life, now has to follow through and face her fears and insecurities.

Wes, the CEO of the FitMi app, is struggling with not being engaged at work, his mom’s addiction issues, and his ex’s work at a rival company. He decides to get back to what he loves which is coaching clients. He assigns himself to Britta unaware that she’s the writer profiling his app.

Britta, unaware of who her coach really is, just knows that she really looks forward to the in-app coaching she’s getting. She looks forward to their exchanges and his advice is making a difference in her eating and exercise habits.

My thoughts about The Fastest Way to Fall

This is a slow burn with a scorchingly hot pay-off. Their sweet meet-cute via texts slowly grows into email/calls and eventually meeting face to face.

Britta is likable with such a fantastic sense of humor. She nicknames Wes Tube Socks. I loved her body positivity. And her insecurities from how others react to her weight is entirely relatable. Down to worrying about farting at the gym.

I loved that Wes encouraged her to be healthier, not thinner, and to listen to her body.

If you hate it when characters’ problems could be avoided by just talking to each other, this will probably drive you mad.

Denise Williams created a strong friend/family network for both Britta and Wes.

In conclusion

Come for the witty banter and the heat and stay for the engaging characters. For fans of Jasmine Guillory and Olivia Dade.

Thank you NetGalley and Berkley Romance for the ARC.

Subscribe to my blog, Undine Reads, or follow my Bookstagram to get even more bookish content.

About Denise Williams

A diversity trainer and co-creator of a women’s empowerment group, she is dedicated to developing flawed, multidimensional characters who struggle with those issues impacting real women. After growing up a military brat around the world and across the country, Denise now lives in Iowa with her husband, son, and two ornery shih-tzus who think they own the house.

Denise was a 2019 Romance Writers of America ® Golden Heart Finalist and How to Fail at Flirting her debut novel.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • GoodReads
  • NetGalley and Edelweiss Reading Challenge 2021
SHARE:
Reviews 0 Replies to “The Fastest Way to Fall by Denise Williams”