Witchful Thinking by Celestine Martin

Witchful Thinking by Celestine MartinWitchful Thinking by Celestine Martin
Series: Elemental Love #1
Published by Forever on September 27, 2022
Genres: Romance
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Goodreads
four-stars
Also by this author: Kiss and Spell
Also in this series: Kiss and Spell

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About Witchful Thinking

Lucinda’s lived her whole life in Freya’s Grove. Now that her 10-year high school reunion looms, she feels like her life just isn’t enough. So with her two witchy sisters and cousin, Lucy casts a wish spell to manifest her perfect life.

A big part of the perfection is finding her soulmate. Lucy knows that she’ll feel a CLICK with her soulmate. One that she didn’t feel with her recent ex. But one she thought she felt with her high school bestie and crush – until he left town and Lucy right after they graduated high school. 

Now Alex the sexy merman who can’t be tied down is back in town and she can’t deny the heat between them. But if she gives him her heart, again, will he break it again?

My thoughts about Witchful Thinking

As an anxious person, I found Lucy so relatable – enjoying being a homebody. Being a teacher, baking, reading the tea leaves for friends and family – being comfortable with the known.

But I also understand the attraction to the unknown and taking risks. I definitely understood her conflicted feelings and the push and pull. I also understood Lucy’s desire to have a more exciting and glamorous life. I loved how supportive and encouraging Alex was.

It was sweet how hesitant they both were at first to get involved and how circumstances, the wish spell, and even gnomes kept pushing them together.

With the Founders Festival, beach scenes, cookouts, and gardening talk, Witchful Thinking had a lovely summer vibe which was a nice change from the usual autumn/Halloween a lot of witch books have.

Since Lucy is Black, I wish the author leaned more into that with the family’s magic. 

I am hopeful that this is the first in a series about the Carray witches and we get the sisters’ stories.

You get:

  • Small town
  • Family of witches
  • Black rep
  • Body positive
  • Tea – drinking and reading leaves
  • Small town festival with funnel cakes and a mechanical fortune teller
  • Baking
  • Second chance romance
  • Opposites attract
  • Sexy swimming merman
  • Steamy beach scene
  • Soulmates
  • Slow burn
  • Prankster gnomes

In closing

This witchy romance is perfect for fans of Lana Harper and Hazel Beck.

Thank you, Forever for the DRC!

Subscribe to my blog, Undine Reads, or follow my Bookstagram to get even more bookish content.

About Celestine Martin

A native of New Jersey, Celestine Martin writes whimsical and flirty paranormal romance that celebrates the beauty of everyday magic.

She spent her formative years buying as many romance novels in bulk from the local secondhand bookstore. She’s inspired to write happily ever afters and happy for now endings starring the people and places close to her heart.

When she’s not reading or writing, she enjoys organizing her massive sticker collection with her husband while spoiling their daughter in New York.

Be First to Comment

Tell me what you think!