In Hot Water by Kate Kingsbury

In Hot Water by Kate KingsburyIn Hot Water by Kate Kingsbury
Series: Misty Bay Tearoom #1
Published by Crooked Lane Books on October 12, 2021
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

About In Hot Water

In Hot Water is the first in a new cozy series by bestselling author Kate Kingsbury. Set in the small town of Misty Bay on the Oregon coast, the series centers on Vivian, the owner of the Willow Pattern Tea Room.

When a man’s body is found under suspicious circumstances, his ex-wife Jenna, one of Vivian’s employees, becomes the main suspect in the murder investigation. So it’s up to Vivian, Jenna, and Vivian’s other employee, Gracie to solve the murder and clear Jenna’s name.

My thoughts about In Hot Water

Perhaps it’s because Kate Kingsbury’s other mysteries are historicals but despite having a contemporary setting, this felt very old-fashioned to me. The characters using words like “hussy” and blushing over using a curse word just felt like it belonged in another time period.

Otherwise, this was a charming whodunit of the classic cozy type. Lots of delicious descriptions of Vivian’s pastries and tea. Lots of small-town politics and scandals to be investigated. One or possibly two budding romances. And towards the end, we get the introduction of Felix, the canine companion!

In conclusion

If you’re looking for a classic cozy that harkens back to the Miss Marple type of story, then you’ll feel right at home with In Hot Water!

Thanks to NetGalley and Crooked Lane Books for the ARC.

Subscribe to my blog, Undine Reads, or follow my Bookstagram to get even more bookish content.

About Kate Kingsbury

Kate Kingsbury grew up in London, England, and at a very early age began telling stories to her school friends during the London Blitz of WW II while huddling in bomb shelters. Kate moved to the U.S. in the early sixties, and had passed her 50th birthday when she published her first book. Writing as Doreen Roberts, (her real name at the time) she published 26 romance novels for Harlequin/Silhouette. In 1991 her first Pennyfoot Hotel book was published and since then Kate has written 35 mysteries, including the Manor House mysteries, the Bellehaven House mysteries(written as Rebecca Kent) and the Raven’s Nest mysteries, (written as Allison Kingsley.) Her new series, The Merry Ghost Inn Mysteries debuted in January, 2017 with Dead and Breakfast, featuring a B & B on the Oregon coast. She has one son, Regan, and lives with her husband, Bill, in the beautiful state of Oregon.

Be First to Comment

Tell me what you think!